Skip to main content

Our Board

The Board of Directors is the governing body of Horizon Power as prescribed in the Electricity Corporations Act 2005.

The primary role of the Board is to set the strategic direction of the organisation, ensure governance and compliance frameworks are in place and to monitor the performance of the business. Horizon Power's Board is made up of the following people:

Mr Stephen Edwell (Chairman) 

Appointed in 30 April 2018.

Stephen is an economist specialising in energy market regulation, design and utility reform.

His experience in the Australian energy sector is wide-ranging. Steve led the team that project managed Queensland’s entry to the National Electricity Market. He also project managed the design and implementation of the Wholesale Electricity Market in Western Australia.

Steve has been a senior member of energy regulatory boards since 2005. He was appointed by the Commonwealth Government as inaugural full-time Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator and Associate Commissioner of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (2005-2010). Most recently, Steve completed an 11 year term as a part-time Governing Body Member of the Western Australian Economic Regulation Authority.

He has undertaken various energy-related projects for the (former) WA Department of State Development, Public Utilities Office, Department of Finance and WA Treasury.

Steve holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Economics) and a Masters of Business Administration.

Ms Rosemary Wheatley (Deputy Chair)

Appointed in November 2012. Appointed Deputy Chair on 26 October 2016.

Rosemary has been a commercial lawyer for more than 35 years. During her legal career, she acted for many years on behalf of a major bank, a major insurance company, several of the larger charities in Australia, and numerous smaller businesses and individual clients all over Western Australia. She developed specialist expertise in the areas of company law, banking securities, property law, trusts, estate planning and superannuation law.

Rosemary is the Government-appointed independent director of Guumbarr Limited, a trustee company set up under the Browse LNG Precinct Project Agreement. She was a Metropolitan Cemeteries Board member for seven years.

Rosemary holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Master of Laws.

​Mr Peter Oates

Appointed in November 2014.

Peter has more than 38 years' of experience in the Western Australian electricity industry. Most of this experience was in the financial area, including periods where he was the General Manager Finance and Administration followed by a period where he was the General Manager Emerging Business which included the development of renewable projects for Western Power prior to its disaggregation in 2006.

He was a Director of Eneabba Gas

Professor Ray Wills

Appointed in November 2014.

Professor Wills is a respected commentator and adviser on sustainability and technology across the built environment, clean tech, energy infrastructure, industrials, manufacturing, resources, transport, and water sectors. His research includes adoption rates of and disruption in technology, including automation, robotics and additive manufacturing, and the impact of social media on markets.

Professor Wills is owner and managing director of advisory firm Future Smart Strategies and of sustainable design group Blue by Design (Singapore) and its Australian subsidiary, partner and Chair of Sun Brilliance Power, non-executive director of PowerMinder, and non-executive director of BioTek Fuels.

He is also Adjunct Professor at the University of Western Australia, where he contributes to the academic program and supervises postgraduate students, is an active peer reviewer for science publications, and is a spokesperson on climate change, sustainability and new technology.

He was recognised by Singapore-based ABC Carbon as one of the Top 100 Global Leaders in Sustainability in 2011, an honour renewed each year since, and from 2014 he has been listed by UK-based SustMeme Magazine as one of the top 100 Global Influencers in Social Media on Climate Change and Energy. In 2016, analytics firm Onalytica listed him in its Top 100 Influencers and Brands for Renewable Energy in the world, and in 2017 he was similarly recognised for Climate Action.

Professor Wills holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Mycology) and a Doctorate of Philosophy (Ecology).

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Ecological Society of Australia, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Energy.

​Mr Neil Thompson (Director)

Appointed in October 2016.

Neil has extensive experience in customer and corporate strategy as well as business development. He has held numerous commercial roles in the aviation, travel and tourism sector in Australia, Asia, Europe and North America over the last 25 years. Neil also led two of Australia’s largest, most profitable customer loyalty businesses, Qantas Frequent Flyer and Virgin Australia’s Velocity program.

Neil is an advisory board member of the Australian National University’s (ANU) Australian Centre on China in the World and a director of Smiling Mind Inc. He is also advisor to a number of Australian start-up ventures, and is fluent in Mandarin.

Ms Kylie Chamberlain (Director)

Appointed 30 April 2018.

Kylie is an accomplished and experienced banking and finance executive with over 20 years' experience within the industry. Across various senior roles with prominent Australian banking and financial institutions, she has garnered broad market exposure to a variety of industry and brings acumen in the key areas of finance, strategy, culture, governance and risk.

Kylie holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Western Australia and post graduate qualifications from both the Securities Institute of Australia and the Governance Institute of Australia.

Kylie is currently a Non-executive Director of West Coast Fever Netball Club Limited and holds a Senior Relationship role at Bankwest.